Myrtle Beach Conway Horry Georgetown DUI/DUAC Felony DUI Defense Attorney
Serving Horry & Georgetown Counties: Little River, Myrtle Beach,
North Myrtle Beach, Carolina Forest, Conway, Surfside Beach, Murrell's Inlet, Longs, Aynor, Latta, Dillon, and Georgetown
Getting charged with DUI or drunk driving is a serious crime in any state, but the penalties in South Carolina can be especially harsh. If you have been arrested for DUI, DUAC (driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration), or felony DUI hiring an experienced Myrtle Beach DUI lawyer is the best thing you can do for yourself. I generally request a jury trial in any criminal case and an administrative hearing if my clients license has been suspended.
You have the right to a jury trial, those individuals that request jury trials have a much lower probability of a DUI conviction.
17 Years of DUI Defense Experience In The Myrtle Beach Area
As a criminal defense attorney Trent Chambers has effectively represented a large number of people charged with DUI, DUAC, and Felony DUI in the Myrtle Beach area over the past 13 years. He will thoroughly investigate every aspect of the charge, keep you informed of the progress of your case, and personally review the evidence with you. After reviewing the evidence you will be able to make an informed decision on how you wish to proceed with your case. The Chambers Law Firm will make every effort to have your charge dismissed. If the charge is not dismissed a plea to a less serious charge may be an option. When a case is not dismissed or the charges reduced, Mr. Chambers will not hesitate to take your case to trial.
DUI Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Concentration Defense Lawyer
In many cases, the DUI or DUAC charge can be reduced to careless operation or reckless driving. In cases where the DUI charge is likely to lead to a conviction at trial, we will work to make sure the penalties are the lowest possible under the law. If a trial is needed, Mr. Chambers will work with you directly to prepare you for the trial. A conviction for DUI has a sliding scale of penalties that is directly related to the blood alcohol reading. A refusal has the lowest penalty where readings of .16 or higher have more harsh penalties. In addition to criminal penalties the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend the driving privileges of anyone convicted of DUI or DUAC for a period of six months and require the person to enroll in an alcohol and drug safety program in order to have their license reinstated.
A person over the age of 18 can be charged with child endangerment in South Carolina if one or more passengers in an automobile is under the age of 16 and that person violates the State's DUI, DUAC, Felony DUI, or Failure to Stop for a Blue Light Statutes. The penalties for Child Endangerment are generally one half of the penalties for the triggering charge. The charge also carries a 60 day driver’s license suspension.
Horry County Georgetown County Felony DUI Lawyer
A felony DUI charge is usually a result of an accident where someone has suffered great bodily injury or death. The penalties for felony DUI are much greater than those of a regular DUI. In the case of a felony DUI the State must not only prove that the person charged was under the influence but that they also committed an act forbidden by law or neglected a duty imposed by law.
If you need legal representation in Myrtle Beach, North Myrtle Beach, Conway, Surfside Beach or Georgetown South Carolina for a DUI, DUAC, Felony DUI, or Child Endangerment charge give The Chambers Law Firm a call at 843-692-7953 to schedule a free consultation.
Administrative Hearing and License Reinstatement
You have 30 days to request an administrative hearing to fight a suspension, If your license has been suspended for refusal to take the Datamaster, or suspended for a reading of .15 or higher. In addition to defending your DUI charge, Mr. Chambers can also represent you at the administrative hearing. Once the hearing is requested you may become eligible for a temporary license. In most cases, a temporary license is issued within two weeks of requesting the administrative hearing. If you refused to take the DataMaster, there is a possible six-month suspension. If you chose to take the DataMaster and blew over .15, then there is a 30-day possible suspension. If your license is suspended for one of these reasons the state requires that you complete an alcohol assessment and classes before your license is reinstated.