Operating an Uninsured Motor Vehicle in South Carolina/No Proof of Insurance
Serving Horry & Georgetown Counties: Little River, Myrtle Beach,
North Myrtle Beach, Carolina Forest, Conway, Surfside Beach, Murrell's Inlet, Longs, Aynor, Latta, Dillon, and Georgetown
No Proof of Insurance
In South Carolina it is illegal to not have proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. This type of charge can usually be easily taken care of by providing the valid proof of insurance to the charging officer and the Court. The Chambers law firm can handle a no proof of insurance charge at a nominal fee so that you do not have to take the time to go to court.
Operating Uninsured Vehicle
South Carolina requires that you carry liability insurance on your motor vehicles or that you file with the Department of Motor Vehicles for self insurance. Your privilege to drive, license plate and vehicle registration may be suspended and you may have to pay a $200.00 reinstatement fee. You will also have to pay $5.00 for each day your vehicle was uninsured, up to $200.00
If you are found guilty of operating an uninsured vehicle and you were driving a vehicle that you did not own, your driver's license will be suspended for thirty days and you will be required to pay a $100.00 reinstatement fee.
If you are found guilty of operating an uninsured vehicle and you were driving a vehicle that you own, your driver license and your registration privileges will be suspended until the Department receives a $550.00 reinstatement fee. You will also be required to file SR-22 insurance for three years starting from the beginning date of the suspension.
If you have been charged with an insurance violation call The Chambers Law Firm at 843-692-7953 for help with the charge. In many instances if you are able to provide valid insurance information we may be able to have the charge against you dismissed.